Honolulu Waldorf High School Inducts Ten New Members into the National Honor Society
January 31, 2013
East Oahu Sun

On Tuesday, January 29, 2013, Honolulu Waldorf High School (HWHS) celebrated the inauguration of the School’s new established chapter of the National Honor Society by inducting ten students into the organization.

The National Honor Society (NHS) honors demonstrated excellence in the areas of Scholarship, Leadership, Service, and Character. The new HWHS Columbia, Puerto Rico, many U. S. Territories, and Canada. Chapter membership not only recognizes those students who have inductees join the more than one million students participating in chapters in all 50 states, the District of students for their accomplishments, but challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities, leadership opportunities, and community service.

Honolulu Waldorf High School NHS members must complete at least one individual and one group service project per year in addition to the service hours required of all HWHS students. This year, NHS members will also be responsible for coordinating recognition of academic achievements of all Honolulu Waldorf High School students.

“We established a chapter of the National Honor Society at Honolulu Waldorf High School as a way to recognize and celebrate our students who exemplify the organization’s ideals, ” says Stephanie Sheffield, chapter co- sponsor.

To qualify for membership, students must first meet the minimum 3.0 grade point average. All scholastically eligible students must then complete the Candidate Form which the areas of Service and Leadership. Finally, high school faculty evaluate the candidates based on the four pillars of the society: Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Character. This year’s Honolulu Waldorf High School inductees are:


  • Sebastiano Bresolin, Class of 2013
  • Pearl Corry, Class of 2013
  • Simone Potter, Class of 2013
  • Moritz Koeppenkastrop-Lueker, Class of 2014
  • Ming Tang, Class of 2014
  • Joshua Ching, Class of 2013
  • Leilani Freeman, Class of 2013
  • Athena Iokepa, Class of 2014
  • Taylor Tanahashi, Class of 2014
  • Tahnijo Kakazu, Class of 2015



Article originally appeared on East Oahu Sun | Your Community Newspaper (http://www.eastoahusun.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.